Today @ Colorado State has been replaced by SOURCE. This site exists as an archive of Today @ Colorado State stories between January 1, 2009 and September 8, 2014.

Awards / Honors

Students receive highly-competitive fellowship

October 15, 2010
By Carol Borchert

Two undergraduate students in the Department of Microbiology, Immunology and Pathology were honored by the American Society for Microbiology as 2010 recipients of the ASM Undergraduate Research Fellowship. The awards were announced in September.

Scientific research selected for national recognition

Erin Breland and Ian McMillan, both seniors majoring in microbiology, were selected from a highly competitive school of applicants. Each fellow receives up to a $4,000 stipend, a two-year ASM student membership, and reimbursement for travel expenses to the 111th ASM General Meeting.

RoxAnn Karkhoff-Schweizer, associate professor in MIP, is mentor for both students. The title of Breland’s research project is: “Characterization of a Temperature-Sensitive Burkholderia Plasmid Replicon.” The title of McMillan’s research project is: “Deletion of Flagellum and Chemotaxis Region (BTFC Region) Burkholderia thailandensis.”

Academic achievement, microbiology graduate careers

The ASM Undergraduate Research Fellowship is aimed at highly competitive students who wish to pursue graduate careers in microbiology. Fellows have the opportunity to conduct full-time summer research at their institution with an ASM mentor and present their research results at the 111th ASM General Meeting in New Orleans, La., in May 2011.

Originally published in the College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences e-Insight newsletter, October 2010.