Today @ Colorado State has been replaced by SOURCE. This site exists as an archive of Today @ Colorado State stories between January 1, 2009 and September 8, 2014.

Working at CSU

CSU launches search for new Associate VP of Human Resources

August 17, 2010

Vice President for University Operations Amy Parsons has launched a national search for a new leader who can help CSU become a model employer in higher education.

Recast of current position

Carol Shirey, Director of Human Resource Services at Colorado State University since 2004, has announced plans to retire in November. Rather than refilling the director position, Parsons has recast the assignment as an associate vice president for Human Resource Services, with expanded responsibilities that will now include creating and implementing the strategic vision for the Department and overseeing Employee Training and Organizational Development and the Employee Assistance Program, in addition to the HR departments of payroll, data systems, state-classified employment, benefits, records, and employee relations.

“Carol Shirey has dedicated herself to CSU and its employees for many years and accomplished a great deal in her role as Director of HRS,” Parsons said. “With her retirement, we took a hard look at the strengths of our HR team and considered how a new leader could best complement and build on those strengths. We have good people in place who understand the responsibilities of HR and how to keep everything functioning smoothly within state rules. So I think CSU will benefit most by bringing in someone with a broad overall vision of how we can continue to build an HR operation focused on excellent service and meeting the diverse, complex needs of our employees and the institution. We are really looking for someone who can help us achieve the goal of becoming a model employer that recruits, energizes, and retains the very best workforce.”

Position description and search committee

A complete position description is available online at

Lynn Johnson, Associate Vice President for Finance and Budget, is chairing the search. Committee members include:

  • Diana Prieto, Director of the Office of Equal Opportunity
  • Richard Eykholt, Faculty Council Chair
  • Farrah Bustamante, Classified Personnel Council Chair
  • Jim Zakely, Administrative Professional Council
  • Jupe Herrick, College and Administration Advisory Group
  • Michelle Tate, HR manager for Facilities
  • Wendy True, HR manager for Housing and Dining Services
  • Jannine Mohr, Office of the General Counsel
  • Valerie Monahan, EO coordinator
  • Erika Borges, administrative support to the committee

Contact: Cara Neth
Phone: (970) 491-6211