Today @ Colorado State has been replaced by SOURCE. This site exists as an archive of Today @ Colorado State stories between January 1, 2009 and September 8, 2014.


Master of Tourism Management launches Industry Advisory Board

Updated December 20, 2013

CSU's Master of Tourism Management program (MTM) has launched an Industry Advisory Board that is providing insights to further align the graduate degree program's curriculum with industry needs.

2013 MTM student cohort.The Board is comprised of tourism leaders from across the country and is engaging MTM students in real-world industry issues and creating career opportunities for graduates.

Second largest industry

Tourism is Colorado’s second largest industry and employs nearly 7 percent of the world’s population. The MTM program was designed to supply a growing demand for dynamic, well-trained tourism management professionals, and has grown to an on-campus cohort of 29 students in just one year.  

“Board members have been invaluable in helping us develop a skills-based curriculum that meets the needs of the industry,” said Mike Manfredo, professor Graphic recording from MTM Industry Advisory Board kick-off.and HDNR department chair.  “MTM will shape a unique generation of leaders who understand the complexity of tourism enterprise operating in the natural environment.”

The MTM Industry Advisory Board is chaired by Joe Blake, chancellor emeritus of the Colorado State University System, and is composed of CEO’s and presidents of major tourism organizations from a variety of sectors. Board members include recent MTM graduates Mike Logan and Christie Lee Rolph and prominent HDNR alumni, including: Andy Wirth, president of Squaw Valley Resort; Ken Cruse, CEO of Sunstone Hotel Investors; Daren Cole, Warner College of Natural Resources alumnus; and Laura Nilo Fryer, vice president of marketing, Black Diamond Equipment.

The Board has already made an impact on MTM students through networking opportunities Masters in Tourism Managementand informative presentations on tourism issues.

Advisory board members

  • Michael Berry, president, National Ski Areas Association
  • Rick Cables, vice president of natural resources, Vail Resorts
  • Jim Clark, president and CEO, Fort Collins Convention and Visitors Bureau
  • Kim Day, director of aviation, Denver International Airport
  • Tamara Door, president and CEO, Downtown Denver Partnership
  • Mark Gasta, executive vice president and chief people officer, Vail Resorts, Inc.
  • Steve Hood, vice president of research, Smith Travel Research, Inc.
  • Bill Hybl, president, El Pomar Foundation
  • Kyle Hybl, senior vice president and general counsel, El Pomar Foundation
  • Kathay Rennels, assistant vice president for community and economic development, CSU
  • Richard Scharf, president and CEO, Visit Denver
  • Will Seccombe, president and CEO, Visit Florida
  • Ken Widmaier, COO, Sage Hospitality
  • Tim Wolfe, regional managing director, Pyramid Hotel Group; and chairman, Colorado Tourism Office

More information

For more information on each Board member, visit the website

MTM is an accelerated plan-C master’s program that is offered as a nine-month on-campus cohort and an online, self-paced cohort through CSU OnlinePlus. The program is offered through the Department of Human Dimensions of Natural Resources in CSU’s Warner College of Natural Resources, and draws on CSU’s seasoned natural resource management, business, hospitality and tourism faculty with an average of more than 30 years in research, outreach, teaching and direct industry experience.

For more information about MTM, or to register for fall 2014, visit the website