Today @ Colorado State has been replaced by SOURCE. This site exists as an archive of Today @ Colorado State stories between January 1, 2009 and September 8, 2014.

Sports / Recreation

Greer named to football's Biletnikoff Award watch list

August 11, 2009
By Stuart Buchanan, Athletics

Colorado State senior wide receiver Rashaun Greer is among 37 individuals selected to the watch list for the 2009 Biletnikoff Award, which recognizes the top wide receiver in college football, the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation announced Tuesday.

Top college football wide receivers

A 6-foot-1, 202-pound wideout from North Las Vegas, Nev., Greer ranked second in the MWC last season with 1,114 receiving yards. He became the first 1,000-yard receiver for the Rams since 2005 and was a second-team all-Conference performer in 2008. Greer was also ranked 24th nationally in receiving yards per game with 85.7, and was 10th in the nation in average yards per catch at 17.7.

Greer also is a preseason all-conference selection.

The last Ram to be named to the Biletnikoff Award watch list was current Houston Texan David Anderson in 2005.

Winner to be announced Dec. 10

The winner of the 17th Biletnikoff Award will be announced as part of ESPN's College Football Awards Show on Dec. 10. The award will be officially presented to the winner at the annual Biletnikoff Award dinner, hosted by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club, on Feb. 12.

The Mountain West had three players in total named to the watch list. The other two nominees are BYU tight end Dennis Pitta and UNLV wide receiver Ryan Wolfe. Michael Crabtree from Texas Tech has captured the honor each of the past two seasons.


  • Kris Adams, UTEP
  • Seyi Ajirotutu, Fresno State
  • Brandon Banks, Kansas State
  • Doug Beaumont, Louisville
  • Arrelious Benn, Illinois
  • Dezmon Briscoe, Kansas
  • Antonio Brown, Central Michigan
  • DeAndre Brown, Southern Miss
  • Ryan Broyles, Oklahoma
  • Dez Bryant, Oklahoma State
  • Tyron Carrier, Houston
  • Eric Decker, Minnesota
  • Jacoby Ford, Clemson
  • Cortez Gent, Florida Atlantic
  • Mardy Gilyard, Cincinnati
  • AJ Green, Georgia
  • Rashaun Greer, Colorado State
  • D'Andre Goodwin, Washington
  • T.Y. Hilton, Florida International
  • Shay Hodge, Ole Miss
  • Jerrel Jernigan, Troy
  • Damaris Johnson, Tulsa
  • Julio Jones, Alabama
  • Brandon LaFell, LSU
  • Detron Lewis, Texas Tech
  • Kerry Meier, Kansas
  • Dennis Pitta, BYU
  • Taylor Price, Ohio
  • Aldrick Robinson, SMU
  • Naaman Roosevelt, Buffalo
  • Greg Salas, Hawaii
  • Jordan Shipley, Texas
  • Jacory Stone, Eastern Michigan
  • Golden Tate, Notre Dame
  • Damian Williams, USC
  • Stephen Williams, Toledo
  • Ryan Wolfe, UNLV