Today @ Colorado State has been replaced by SOURCE. This site exists as an archive of Today @ Colorado State stories between January 1, 2009 and September 8, 2014.

Sports / Recreation

Former Ram great McGregor elected into hall of fame

October 27, 2010
By Tony Phifer

Former CSU All-American Keli McGregor, who became the president of the Colorado Rockies, will be inducted into the Colorado Sports Hall of Fame in April.

Former Colorado State University football All-American Keli McGregor will be inducted into the Colorado Sports Hall of Fame in April.

Keli McGregor, '84, a Rams football All-American, was selected Tuesday as a Class of 2011 inductee into the Colorado Sports Hall of Fame.

McGregor, who died of a heart infection last spring at age 48, joins former Colorado Rockies great Larry Walker, former Denver Broncos kicker Jason Elam, auto racing legend Bobby Unser, former University of Colorado All-American Alfred Williams and USA Hockey Hall of Famer Art Berglund in the Class of 2011, which was selected Tuesday.

The six newest members of the state’s hall of fame will be inducted April 12 at the annual Colorado Sports Hall of Fame Banquet in Denver.

From walk-on to All-American

McGregor was a legendary success story at CSU, arriving as a walk-on and leaving as an All-American tight end. He set numerous school records during his career, earning all-Western Athletic Conference honors three times.

McGregor played one season in the NFL before embarking on a career in athletic administration. In 1993 he joined the Colorado Rockies in the team’s first year of operation and became team president in 2001, helping the Rockies reach their first World Series in 2007 and another playoff berth in 2009.

Joins other Ram legends

McGregor was voted into the CSU Sports Hall of Fame in 1996 and was named to the Rams’ all-century team in 1992. He is the 19th former CSU player or coach to be inducted into the Colorado Sports Hall of Fame, joining other Ram legends like Glenn Morris, Amy Van Dyken, Thurman "Fum" McGraw and Sonny Lubick.