Today @ Colorado State has been replaced by SOURCE. This site exists as an archive of Today @ Colorado State stories between January 1, 2009 and September 8, 2014.

Awards / Honors

2009 inductees into Hall of Fame announced

May 15, 2009

The Athletic Department has announced that Rich Bircumshaw, the former Voice of the Rams who died unexpectedly on April 29, will be one of this year's inductees into Colorado State University's Hall of Honor.

Tribute to Rich Bircumshaw

This fall, the 2009 class of inductees into Colorado State's Hall of Fame will be recognized, and Rich Bircumshaw, the former, beloved Voice of the Rams, will be among them.

Included in the Hall of Fame is the Hall of Honor, which recognizes coaches, administrators, and others who have contributed to the success of CSU Athletics. Each year, one person is given this honor, and in 2009, that person is Rich Bircumshaw.  

Bircumshaw was more than just the Voice of the Rams as witnessed by the many touching comments from family and friends since his passing last week. On Friday, the CSU athletic department made another fitting tribute to Bircumshaw, announcing that he will be this year’s inductee into Colorado State University’s Hall of Honor.

Bircumshaw overwhelming choice for prestigious recognition

The Hall of Honor is a prestigious recognition reserved for coaches, staff and others who have made a significant impact on the success of the athletic department. It comes as no surprise that CSU’s No. 1 supporter, Bircumshaw, would be an overwhelming choice for induction. 

Bircumshaw was a member of the Colorado State radio network since 1999, and had been the play-by-play voice of CSU football and men's basketball since 2002.

Willing to serve CSU unselfishly as a public ambassador, representing the ideals of the athletic department on a daily basis, he volunteered as an emcee for dozens of CSU events each year. And when he wasn't speaking to large audiences, he was having quality one-on-one conversations with people. 

2009 Hall of Honor inductees to be honored this fall

Joining Bircumshaw in the Hall of Fame class of 2009 will be: 

  • Jeanette Marie (Beitz) Crawshaw, former swimmer
  • Pat Durham, men’s basketball legend  
  • Moses Moreno, former quarterback  
  • Kevin Sheesley, two-sport star 

The 2009 class will be honored at the annual Colorado State Hall of Fame induction banquet this fall. Information on the exact date and tickets will be available soon. 

2009 Hall of Fame biographies

Jeanette Marie (Beitz) Crawshaw (swimming): 
  • freshman All-American at UCLA (relays) in 1988
  • All-American at Fort Collins High School in 1987
  • Frank Award (best female athlete) in 1991
  • NCAA Woman of the Year in 1991
  • All-American and academic All-American in 1991
  • All-conference in 1989, 1990 and 1991
  • WAC champion in two events (one individual and one relay) in 1991
  • All-conference in four events (three individual and one relay) in 1991
  • HCAC champion in two events (relays) in 1990
  • HCAC champion in seven events (three individual and four relay) in 1989
  • CSU record for most points in a season (325) in 1989
  • Graduated in 1991 with a 3.5 GPA in accounting
Pat Durham (men’s basketball)
  • Led CSU to the second round of the 1989 NCAA tournament
  • First-team all-conference in 1988 and 1989
  • Set the following records while at CSU: career scoring, season scoring (1988), career rebounds, career field goals made and attempted and career free throws made and attempted
  • Team was WAC champion in 1988-89
  • WAC Player of the Year in 1989
  • CSU Nye Award (best male athlete) in 1988
  • Team MVP in 1988 and 1989
  • Member of 1988 NIT all-tournament team
  • Selected in the second round of the NBA Draft by the Dallas Mavericks
  • Played two seasons in the NBA, one with the Golden State Warriors and one with the Minnesota Timberwolves
  • Played professionally in Europe from 1996-2007
Moses Moreno (footballl)
  • Played quarterback at CSU from 1993-97
  • Is in the top five in school history for a number of single-season and career passing records, including passing touchdowns, total passing yards and total offense, and among the top 25 in the WAC in the same categories
  • In 1997, was named WAC Player of the Year, Holiday Bowl MVP and team MVP
  • Has been inducted into the San Diego Hall of Champions
  • As a junior, received honorable mention all-conference
  • As a senior, led the Rams to a Holiday Bowl victory over Missouri and was named first-team all-WAC
  • Ranked ninth nationally in passing efficiency in 1997
  • Finished his career at CSU with a 22-8 record as a starter
  • Seventh-round draft pick of the Chicago Bears in 1998
  • Starter for both the Chicago Bears and the San Diego Chargers
  • Nye Trophy (best male athlete) winner in 1998
Kevin Sheesley (wrestling, football)
  • Wrestled and played football at CSU from 1977-82
  • Earned four letters in both wrestling and football
  • Winningest wrestler in school history - passing Rob Anderson’s career victory total of 66 wins for first place - having compiled a 67-20 record, including going undefeated in junior and senior years
  • All-American in senior year
  • Was undefeated and ranked as high as second in the country prior to injury (just before the national tournament)
  • Three-time WAC champion in the 190-pound weight class
  • Finished third in the conference in ’78
  • Two-time M.I.W.A champion and two-time Western Regional champion
  • Won the Nye Trophy (best male athlete)
  • Starting outside linebacker on football team in junior and senior year, finishing second on the team in tackles both seasons
  • Voted honorable mention all- WAC by coaches following 1979 season
  • Member of the CSU all-century football team