Today @ Colorado State has been replaced by SOURCE. This site exists as an archive of Today @ Colorado State stories between January 1, 2009 and September 8, 2014.

Research / Discovery

Engineering professor only Colorado recipient of 2013 Air Force Young Investigator Award

March 28, 2013

Sudeep Pasricha, assistant professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, is one of only 40 scientists and engineers nationally who will receive $15 million in grants from the Air Force Office of Scientific Research.

Sudeep Pasricha, assistant professor of Electrical and Computer EngineeringHonorees in the Young Investigator Research Program are U.S. scientists or engineers who received Ph.D. or equivalent degrees in the last five years and “show exceptional ability and promise for conducting basic research.”

Pasricha has joint appointment

Pasricha, who has a joint appointment in the Department of Computer Science at Colorado State, is the only scientist in Colorado to receive the award in 2013.

“Sudeep is conducting cutting-edge research in his field and he is certainly deserving of this prestigious award,” said Tony Maciejewski, head of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.

Pasricha obtained the award for his research proposal, “Integrated Optoelectronic Networks for Application-Driven Multicore Computing,” which aims to determine the best modalities for integrating emerging photonics technology into multicore electronic chips that drive all major modern inventions such as vehicles and airplanes, computers and phones, scientific and industrial infrastructure, as well as military systems.

His research is expected to lay the groundwork for realizing electronic systems that perform at much greater levels of efficiency, reliability, and cost-effectiveness than electronic systems today.

Pasricha joined the Colorado State University faculty after receiving his Ph.D. in 2008 from the University of California, Irvine. His research interests are in the areas of embedded systems, mobile computing, CAD algorithms, networks-on-chip and emerging interconnect technologies (photonics, carbon nanotube, 3D), heterogeneous computing, memory architectures, and low-power, thermal-aware, and fault-tolerant computing.

Award-winning scientist

Among the awards he has received in his short time at Colorado State include Best Paper Awards at the IEEE AICCSA 2011 and IEEE ISQED 2010 conferences, and the 2012 ACM SIGDA Technical Leadership Award. His current research is sponsored by research grants from the National Science Foundation, Semiconductor Research Corp., Air Force Office of Scientific Research and Oak Ridge National Laboratory.

The Young Investigator Research Program is intended to foster creative basic research in science and engineering, enhance early career development of outstanding young investigators, and increase opportunities for the young investigators to recognize the Air Force mission and the related challenges in science and engineering.

The 40 scientists were chosen from 192 proposals in areas of interest to the Air Force including aerospace, chemical and material sciences; physics and electronics; and mathematics, information and life sciences.

Contact: Emily Wilmsen
Phone: (970) 491-2336