Today @ Colorado State has been replaced by SOURCE. This site exists as an archive of Today @ Colorado State stories between January 1, 2009 and September 8, 2014.

Awards / Honors

Students place 1st, 2nd at Colorado '2010 Japan Cup'

May 3, 2010

Fourteen CSU students, with help from supporters, competed in the annual JASC Japan Cup. The competition tests students in proficiency, vocabulary, grammar, culture, history, and current issues of Japan.

Graham Large, Daniel Way, and Ethan Luke receive first place awards. Photo credit: Dan Bihn

Students showcase speaking skills

On Saturday, April 10, fourteen students enrolled in Japanese language (LJPN201) divided into five teams and competed in the 2010 JASC Japan Cup which is a statewide language proficiency competition.

This competition is held annually and it tests students in vocabulary, grammar as well as the culture, history, and current issues of Japan.

Diligence, hard work

Thanks to their diligence and assistance from the senior students, teachers, and a Japanese foreign exchange student, CSU teams took first and second place at the competition.

Graham Large, a junior in mechanical engineering, Daniel Way, a sophomore in mechanical engineering, and Ethan Luke, a sophomore with an undeclared major, took first place.

The 14 students, all from different colleges at CSU, worked very hard with the help of some senior students in the Japanese language. They met twice a week outside of class to study for three-plus hours, for three months. 

2010 JASC Japan Cup - College Level

All the members of the CSU teams and their supporters. Photo credit: Dan Bihn

First place
  • Daniel Way (captain)
  • Graham Large
  • Ethan Luke
Second place
  • Ashlie Tagawa (captain)
  • Olivia Shoup
Other participants
  • Lindsey Butler
  • Danielle Egeler
  • Nathan Foore
  • Sydney Graham
  • Derek Kaufman
  • Veronica Kinn
  • Ilana Laurvik
  • Amber Numamoto
  • Ana-Merrey Strickland
Senior students of Japanese language
  • Wendy Christensen
  • Brandon Iwamoto
  • Andrew Lape
  • Wei-Hsuan Lo
  • Kristin Osani
  • Arlet Schmidt
  • Rachel Seaman

Congratulations to the winners and acknowledgements also go to other students who competed well! It is truly a team effort.