Today @ Colorado State has been replaced by SOURCE. This site exists as an archive of Today @ Colorado State stories between January 1, 2009 and September 8, 2014.

Awards / Honors

Everyday Hero - Dennis Cyboron

March 2, 2011

Dennis was nominated by Sheela Backen, staff member in Facilities Management, for making everybody's day brighter and for his efforts to save money for CSU in these lean budget times.

Dennis Cyboron
Warehouse Buyer
Department of Facilities Management

Dennis works for Facilities Management as a warehouse buyer. He’s been in that position a little over a year. However, he’s no stranger to CSU and has been working on campus for the past eight years. Sheela Backen says, “Dennis is great to work with. He always has a smile, a joke, or some kind of remark that will make you laugh.”

What makes Dennis stand out as an Everyday Hero is that he consistently makes the day brighter. “Dennis is always willing to help you out and let you know what kind of problems are occurring so you can work together to fix them,” Sheela says. “He’s very hard working and a caring person, and I think should be recognized for all his efforts.”

He is also being acknowledged for his efforts to save the university money during this tough economic time. “He always tries to save us money on the orders we submit to him by checking prices with other vendors that sell the same item,” Sheela says.

Humbled about fame

He received a round of applause from co-workers as he was presented his award. Dennis is a humble man who says, “I am who I am.”

He was pleasantly surprised about receiving the award and commented that he is just trying to do the best job he can!

Want to recognize a colleague?

Do you have a colleague who deserves recognition, a co-worker who makes the workplace better or someone who just “made your day?”

Everyday Hero is a special recognition program sponsored by the Classified Personnel Council for recognizing outstanding employees within the CSU community.

All Colorado State University state-classified staff, administrative professionals, and faculty members are eligible to receive the award.


Contact: Sarah Barrett
Phone: 491-3716