Today @ Colorado State has been replaced by SOURCE. This site exists as an archive of Today @ Colorado State stories between January 1, 2009 and September 8, 2014.

Awards / Honors

Willard O. Eddy Award recipients announced

October 28, 2009

Each year, the Eddy Awards are presented in honor of Willard O. Eddy, founder of the Colorado State University Honors Program and the philosophy department. During his 56-year tenure at Colorado State University, Eddy was instrumental in promoting interdisciplinary study and international understanding.

Professor and student scholars recognized

Janice Moore, professor in the Department of Biology, has been selected as the Eddy Teacher. As a dedicated and talented teacher, Professor Moore has helped countless students become self-motivated learners and thinkers who are excited about the concepts and mysteries in biology. She also is a gifted advisor and mentor who brings the same enthusiasm and commitment to advising students as she does in teaching.

The recipients of the Eddy Scholar awards are seniors:

  • Ally Eden, a major in Natural Resource Recreation and Tourism with a concentration in Environmental Communication and a minor in Spanish
  • Joanna Harter, a major in Natural Resource Recreation and Tourism with a minor in French

Eddy Lecture and awards reception Nov. 2

This year’s Eddy Lecturer is Michele Moody-Adams, dean of Columbia College. Moody-Adams is an accomplished scholar and academic administrator who has produced an extensive body of work in moral philosophy. Her lecture, “Education for the 21st Century” will be presented on Monday, Nov. 2 at 7:30 p.m. in Plant Science Building Room C101. The lecture is free and open to the public.

The 2009 Eddy Awards will be presented at a campus reception on Monday, Nov. 2 at 4 p.m. in the Longs Peak Dining Room of the Lory Student Center. The reception is open to the campus community.

Contact: Catherine Coleman Kane
Phone: (970) 491-5421