Today @ Colorado State has been replaced by SOURCE. This site exists as an archive of Today @ Colorado State stories between January 1, 2009 and September 8, 2014.


SLiCE honors student organizations

May 5, 2011

The SLiCE office welcomed all members and advisors of student organizations to attend the 9th Annual SOAR Awards April 28 in the LSC Main Ballroom. The ceremony honors organizations, officers, members, and advisors in the areas of organizational performance, marketing, programming, leadership and service, and advising.

Recognizing a wide array of organizations

There are over 350 Registered Student Organizations at CSU on seemingly every possible interest area imaginable, including Greek organizations, sports clubs, and program-specific groups. SLiCE provides resources to student organizations such as materials, financial management, and officer training.

The Student Organization and Advisor Recognition Awards ceremony is another way SLiCE supports student organizations by recognizing the work they do in the CSU and greater Fort Collins communities throughout the year.

SLiCE accepted nominations from CSU students, faculty, and staff in the months leading up to the event and a committee of judges announced winners in each category on Thursday. SLiCE is pleased to congratulate the following organizations and individuals on their awards.

Advisor Gratitude awards

Advisor Gratitude Award
Tony Pang, LSC Governing Board

Advisor Gratitude Award
Clark Erwin-Billones, Delta Xi Nu Multicultural Sorority, Inc.

Marketing awards

Best Flyers and Posters
Pi Lambda Chi Latina Sorority, Inc.

Best Website
Lambda Theta Nu Sorority, Inc.

Best Pamphlet
International Interior Design Association (IIDA)

Best Social Networking Site
Alpha Phi Omega

Programming awards

Best Cultural Awareness Program
Chinese Student Scholars Association for Chinese New Year Celebration

Best Educational Program
National Council of Teachers of English for The Hunger Games

Best Collaborative Program
Shades of CSU for Annual Mixed Race Week

Best Outreach Program
Sigma Lambda Beta International Fraternity, Inc. for Los Manos Youth Leadership Conference

Best Pre-Professional Program
Pre-Veterinary Club for Pre-Vet Day

Best Annual Program
Indian Student Association for India Nite 2010

Best Overall Program
United Men of Color for Black History Month Closing Concert

Sports Club awards

Most Improved Sport Club
Women’s Ice Hockey

The Carole Becker Officer of the Year Award
Emily Frost for Women’s Volleyball

New Officer of the Year
Steve Sandler for Men’s Lacrosse

Coach of the Year
Blake Stevens to Men’s Rugby

Bill Hill Club of the Year
Women’s Rugby

Individual Leadership and Community Service awards

Sophomore Leader Award
Lyndsay Lack

Junior Leader Award
Zhengwei Xu

Senior Leader Award
Kelsey Keener

Graduate Student Leader Award
Nasir Jalal

Outstanding Community Service Individual
Dezaray Valand

Organization awards

Outstanding Collaboration Award
United Men of Color

Outstanding Mentoring Award

Outstanding Community Building Award
Student Veterans Organization

Outstanding New Organization Award
Biz Miss

Outstanding Student Innovation Award
Young Producers Organization

Outstanding Scholarly Dialogue Award
Leaders in Free Thought

Outstanding Community Service Award
Collegiate Music Educators National Conference

Contact: Stephanie Ashley
Phone: (804) 363-6919