Today @ Colorado State has been replaced by SOURCE. This site exists as an archive of Today @ Colorado State stories between January 1, 2009 and September 8, 2014.

Sports / Recreation

Men's lacrosse has winning tradition

May 22, 2009

The Colorado State men's lacrosse team made it to the national championship games this year. On May 12, Rams lacrosse were the No. 14 seed going in and played No. 3 seed Chapman University.

Rams again competed in MCLA playoffs

The Colorado State men's lacrosse team received the nod for the MCLA playoff bid this year.

They entered the MCLA tournament as the No. 14 seed, and played No. 3 seed Chapman on Tuesday, May 12 at 4 p.m. in the opening round of the playoffs. 

The final score was Chapman 9, and Rams, 8. 

Season stats 

CSU played 13 of top 25 teams 

Colorado State has faced 13 of the top 25 teams in the MCLA to make their's one of the toughest, if not the toughest, schedules in the nation.  Every team they lost to has earned a spot in the tournament.

In April, the last month leading up to the RMLC playoffs, Rams Lacrosse had wins against Lindenwood, Wyoming, and Nebraska. 

Strong winning tradition

Colorado State University men's lacrosse is a member of the Men’s Collegiate Lacrosse Association (MCLA – formerly USLIA and USL-MDIA) and has taken home national titles in 1999, 2001, 2003 and 2006.

Within this national organization there are now nine conferences and almost 180 teams. The Rams compete in the Rocky Mountain Lacrosse Conference. CSU has won RMLC championships in 2000, 2002, 2003, 2004 and 2006.

With two-time MCLA champion Brigham Young, the up-and-coming University of Utah and in-state rival Colorado perennially in the top 20, the RMLC is one of the most competitive conferences in the country.

Colorado State has won four national titles, five RMLC championships and holds a 24-4 record in seven national tournament appearances. 

Coaches and team

Head coach - Flip Naumburg
Assistant Coach - Alex Smith
Assistant Coach - Campbell Diebolt
Assistant Coach - Kale Nelson
Captains - Joel Tomburg, Andrew Stein, Will Cantwell, and Kyle Rosa

Spring 2009 Roster

Contact: Andy Flax
Phone: (970) 846-0651