Today @ Colorado State has been replaced by SOURCE. This site exists as an archive of Today @ Colorado State stories between January 1, 2009 and September 8, 2014.


Preconstruction Center opens Jan. 27

January 15, 2010

The public is invited to come inside and see the unique learning environment that has been created in a completed renovation of the Industrial Sciences Building at Colorado State. Thanks to the collective work of Colorado construction firms, industry organizations and student groups who donated funds and in-kind support, the building was refurbished room by room.

A classroom inside the Preconstruction Center at Colorado State.

Wednesday, Jan. 27, 5-6 p.m.
Preconstruction Center
(Corner of Laurel and Rembrant Streets) 

Colorado State University will unveil a “new” building originally built in 1883. The building was in poor shape and recently underwent a comprehensive refurbishment, including green products, thanks to donations and manual labor supplied by multiple donors and construction management firms.  

Public tours at 5 p.m.

The building will be open to the public for self-guided tours and light refreshments from 5-6 p.m. The Preconstruction Center Center is located at the corner of Laurel and Rembrandt Streets.

The building, formerly named the Industrial Sciences Building, is one of the oldest buildings on campus. The completed $5 million restoration, possible through the generosity of 170 private donors, has brought the building up to 21st century standards and made use of many recycled materials. The building is part of the Construction Management program at the university. 

Coming together to create a unique learning environment

The Preconstruction Center was the collective work of Colorado construction firms, industry organizations and student groups who donated funds and in-kind support to refurbish the building room by room.

A new lecture hall in the Preconstruction Center.

The renovation features state-of-the-art laboratories, classrooms, a lecture hall, study lounge, technology center and public spaces. The project maintained almost all of the original construction in order to preserve the historical significance of the building and keep the building green.

The building also has become a unique learning environment, with windows into the interior walls and exposed infrastructure so that construction management students can see the inner workings of the building as they’re learning building construction. 

The green dimension

Some new additions also helped to bring the building up to standards of the 21st century, such as the addition of roof insulation, which had not existed in the building before the refurbishment, low flow fixtures and automatic faucets. New carpet installed was made from recycled materials, as were new ceiling tiles.

The best information available suggests that this project is a one-of-a-kind in the nation in terms of the number of collaborating businesses supporting a construction project on a college campus. The renovation was funded mainly by private donations from the construction industry with additional support from the University Facility Fee Advisory Board, the University Technology Fee Advisory Board and students in the College of Applied Human Sciences.

Building served as foundry during World War II

The building is one of the few remaining structures on campus from the Pioneer Era – 1870-1909. Formerly known as the Mechanic Shop, its name was changed in the 1890s to the Mechanical Engineering Building. In 1959, the name changed to the Arts Building, in 1969 to Arts-Industrial and in 1972 to Industrial Sciences. The foundry in the building played an important part in World War II by serving as a valuable production center during the war.

Contact: Joan Trussel
Phone: (970) 491-1938