Today @ Colorado State has been replaced by SOURCE. This site exists as an archive of Today @ Colorado State stories between January 1, 2009 and September 8, 2014.

Higher Ed in the News

$1-million Shaw Prizes awarded to five U.S. scientists

May 27, 2010

Five American professors won the 2010 Shaw Prizes on Thursday, earning a partial or full share of the $1-million awards for significant scientific breakthroughs.

The Shaw Prizes, now in their seventh year, recognize achievement in the areas of:

  • Astronomy - shared by Charles L. Bennett, David N. Spergel, Lyman A. Page, Jr.
  • Mathematical sciences - Jean Bourgain
  • Life science and medicine - David Julius

The Shaw Prize is an international award managed and administered by The Shaw Prize Foundation based in Hong Kong.


Read more from the Chronicle of Higher Education.