Today @ Colorado State has been replaced by SOURCE. This site exists as an archive of Today @ Colorado State stories between January 1, 2009 and September 8, 2014.

Sports / Recreation

Eikmeier, Steffan among CSU student-athlete honorees

September 7, 2012

Basketball standout Wes Eikmeier and volleyball star Katelyn Steffan were named the outstanding student-athletes for 2011-12 after leading their respective teams to the NCAA Tournament.

Wes Eikmeier won the Nye Trophy as CSU's top male athlete.Eikmeier, who won the Nye Trophy as the outstanding male athlete, and Steffan, who won the Virginia K. Frank Award as the outstanding female athlete, are among six current and former CSU student-athletes to be honored. All will be recognized Friday, Oct. 26, at the annual Ram Alumni Athletic Association Hall of Fame Banquet at the Lory Student Center Theater.

Jesse Carr, Eikmeier’s teammate on the Rams basketball team that earned an NCAA berth for the first time since 2003, and track/cross country standout Nicole Peters were named the top scholar athletes. Current CSU running back Chris Nwoke was named the winner of Fum McGraw Award, while former Ram All-American Greg Myers was named winner of the Keli McGregor Award.

The annual RAAA banquet, during which six former Ram stars will be inducted into the CSU Sports Hall of Fame, is open to the public. Tickets are $50 for Ram Alumni Athlete Association (RAAA) members and $55 for non-members. Tables accommodating 10 guests can also be purchased for $500.  Those interested in attending are encouraged to contact CSU Events (877/498-7787) for more information. 

About the awards and recipients

Nye Trophy – Wes Eikmeier (men’s basketball)
The Nye Trophy was established in 1929 and is presented annually to the school's most outstanding male athlete. Eikmeier was selected as the 2012 recipient after leading the CSU men’s basketball team back to the NCAA Tournament for the first time in nine seasons.  Eikmeier, then a junior on the squad, ranked as the Rams’ top scorer, pouring in 15.5 points per game.  He earned all-Mountain West and all-district honors. Eikmeier led the team in scoring in 16 of 32 games and had nine games of 20 or more points.

Virginia K. Frank Award - Katelyn Steffan (volleyball)
The Virginia K. Frank Award was established in 1976 and is presented annually to the school’s most outstanding female athlete. As the lone senior on the 2011 volleyball squad, Steffan switched to the left side and completely transformed her game, averaging 3.71 kills, 4.47 points and 0.94 blocks per set. The figures ranked first, second and 10th, respectively, in the Mountain West. Her performance led to CSU’s third consecutive Mountain West title and the second round of the NCAA Tournament. The Rams finished the year with a record of 24-6 and ranked No. 25 in the nation. Steffan was named the Mountain West Volleyball Player of the Year and conference tournament MVP. Additionally, she was a 2011 AVCA All-American. After the conclusion of the season, she was also tabbed as the Colorado Sports Hall of Fame’s College Female Athlete of the Year and was honored at a banquet alongside former Denver Broncos quarterback Tim Tebow and Olympic gold medalist Missy Franklin, among others.

Merrill-Gheen Award – Jesse Carr (men’s basketball)
The Merrill-Gheen Award was established in 1964 and is presented annually to the school's most outstanding male scholar-athlete. Carr was selected as the 2012 recipient of the Merrill-Gheen Award, for his efforts on the hardwood and in the classroom.  A key contributor for Colorado State’s men’s basketball team, Carr played in all 32 games for the Rams in 2011-12, making five starts, and averaging 7.2 points and 3.3 rebounds per game, while dishing out a team-leading 86 assists and hitting better than 43 percent of his 3-point attempts. Carr also excels in the classroom, where he has maintained a 3.722 cumulative grade-point average as a business administration major.

Katelyn Steffen won the Virginia K. Frank Award as CSU's top female athelte.Mencimer Memorial Award – Nicole Peters (women’s cross country/track & field)
The Mencimer Memorial Award was established in 1976 and is presented annually to the most outstanding female scholar-athlete. Peters graduated with a 3.842 grade-point average, earning her degree in Natural Resources Management, while making a name for herself as one of the program’s most successful runners. Peters earned second-team All-America accolades for her 12th-place finish in the 3,000-meter steeplechase at the 2012 NCAA Championships in June, capping her spectacular career at CSU. The Houston, Texas, native set school records in the indoor 3,000-meter run at 9:27.18; and the outdoor 5,000-meter run at 16.12.02, breaking the previous record by more than eight seconds. She was also named to the USTFCCCA all-academic team, one of only 29 female athletes in Division I track and field to receive the honor.

“Fum” McGraw Award – Chris Nwoke (football)
The “Fum” McGraw Award was established in 2002 following McGraw’s death and is presented annually to the CSU student-athlete who best exemplifies academic and athletic excellence, character, leadership, service, and Ram pride. Nwoke was an academic all-MW performer after rushing for 1,130 yards, including a pair of games with 200 or more yards – against Air Force (269) and San Diego State (232) – during his sophomore campaign.  His effort vs. Air Force was the fourth-best total in the country and established Hughes Stadium and Mountain West rushing records. He ranked as one of just six individuals nationally last season with multiple games with 200 or more yards, and was twice named MW Offensive Player of the Week. 

Keli McGregor Award – Greg Myers (football)
The McGregor Award was first presented in 2010. The award recognizes the characteristics that best defined McGregor's legacy as an All-America tight end and outstanding student at CSU (1980-84). Myers, a former All-America defensive back and Jim Thorpe Award Winner for the Rams, was the first and only player in WAC history to earn first-team all-conference honors in four consecutive years (1992-95). Myers, a member of the CSU Athletics Hall of Fame (2001) and the Colorado Sports Hall of Fame (2012), was selected in the fifth round of the 1996 NFL Draft by the Cincinnati Bengals. He played for both the Bengals and Dallas Cowboys during a five-year NFL career. He earned his bachelor’s degree in biological sciences with a minor in anatomy from CSU in 1996, and completed his completed his M.D. in 2006.  Now an anesthesiologist at Denver Health Medical Center, Myers was selected in May for enshrinement in the College Football Hall of Fame, and will be inducted Dec. 4 in New York.