Today @ Colorado State has been replaced by SOURCE. This site exists as an archive of Today @ Colorado State stories between January 1, 2009 and September 8, 2014.


Board of Governors appoints Blake as chancellor, votes McConathy as new chair

Updated at 4 p.m., June 24, 2009

On Wednesday, the Colorado State University System Board of Governors, including student and faculty board representatives, publicly discussed and approved the budget for fiscal year 2010. In addition, the board voted to induct several new board officers: chair, vice chair, treasurer and secretary. The board also reviewed and approved the compensation for the new CSU System chancellor and CSU Fort Collins president.

Fiscal Year 2009-2010 CSU System budget

The CSU System budget for fiscal year 2010, which begins July 1, 2009, is $872 million. The total budget reflects a $33 million cut in state support to the system and a corresponding $33 million in funds from the federal stimulus dollars allocated to Colorado to temporarily offset cuts to public institutions of higher education through the American Reinvestment and Recoveries Act of 2009.

Funding provided to the system through the ARRA is temporary and provides a “two-year” time out from significant cuts in state funding for higher education.

“Governor Ritter’s plan for using the American Reinvestment and Recovery Act of 2009 State Fiscal Stabilization Fund will help the universities maintain funding levels. It also allows time for higher education, elected officials and the business community to thoroughly look at sustainable funding sources for our public universities and colleges,” said Richard Schweigert, CSU system chief financial officer.

“The federal stimulus funds provide valuable time for state leaders to explore all future options. We are on a time frame, because once the stimulus funding is up in 2011, we are looking at a cliff where funding levels could drop dramatically. We need to take this time to find a long-term solution to the budget deficit facing the state.”

Some system cuts included: the system office taking an 11 percent reduction; and the CSU system chancellor’s office is taking a 24 percent budget reduction

The cost of tuition increases students and parents:

New CSU System Board officers

The board voted Patrick McConathy, as its new chair; Ed Haselden as vice chair; Marguerite Salazar as treasurer and Bonifacio A. Cosyleon as secretary. The officers serve a two-year term.

Doug Jones, the outgoing chair, will continue to serve on the board. Jones is up for reappointment at the end of the year.

“CSU is in a tremendous place in its life with three exceptional leaders in Joe Blake, Tony Frank and Joe Garcia,” said Jones. “This is a very dedicated board whose best interest is always with the students, faculty and staff. It’s not easy managing such a complex organization, but it is incredibly worthwhile.”

Permanent appointments for chancellor and president

The board took final action on the permanent appointments for CSU System Chancellor Joe Blake, who was the president and chief executive officer of the Denver Metro Chamber of Commerce for the last 10 years and Dr. Tony Frank as the president of CSU in Fort Collins who had been serving as interim president since November 2008. Both appointments will be effective July 1, 2009.

The board approved the following:

Blake's appointment as CSU System chancellor involves a five-year employment agreement that includes an annual salary of $275,000, and a monthly car allowance of $750. He will be eligible for the same employee benefits as other employees.

Frank, as the 14th president of CSU Fort Collins, will also receive a five-year employment agreement, which includes an annual salary of $350,000, and an annual car and housing allowance of $42,000.

Compensation, incentive, and benefit packages will be detailed in written employment agreements which will be completed in the next several weeks.

Contact: Michele McKinney
Phone: (303) 507-3110