Today @ Colorado State has been replaced by SOURCE. This site exists as an archive of Today @ Colorado State stories between January 1, 2009 and September 8, 2014.

Working at CSU

Reeve awarded Cynthia Gayles award

May 16, 2013

Andrea Reeve, director of the Academic Advancement Center-TRIO Student Support Services, recently was honored with the College in Colorado Cynthia Gayles Memorial Award for lifetime service promoting college access and success.

The award was presented during the College in Colorado annual pre-collegiate conference this March in Denver, Colo.

Presented annually in memory of Cynthia Gayles, a highly respected admissions advocate who dedicated her work recruiting students -- especially underrepresented students -- to Colorado colleges, the award is presented to an individual who has made significant contributions to the pre-collegiate movement and provides students with the resources to access and successfully complete postsecondary education.

Advancing educational opportunity

Reeve’s career has been dedicated to improving educational access and opportunity for underserved students. From the beginning of her career as a middle school teacher in a low-income school in rural Kentucky in the 1960’s, Reeve has worked to promote educational opportunities for lower income, first-generation and underrepresented students. From 1970-1976, she taught middle school and high school students in very rural areas of Alaska, including a four-teacher school located on the Bering Sea Coast.

Reeve worked with pre-collegiate preparation programs in the 1980’s as coordinator of the TRIO Upward Bound and Talent Search programs at the University of Wyoming and directed the Student Educational Opportunity and TRIO Student Support Services learning center. As staff of the UW Center for Teaching Excellence, Reeve also coordinated more than 80 sections of university studies for first-year program seminars.

In 1997, she moved to Washington, D.C. with an opportunity to implement the pilot program, TRIO National Clearinghouse, funded by the U.S. Department of Education and housed at the Pell Institute for the Study of Opportunity in Higher Education, Council for Opportunity in Education. In 2000, she added the national Pathways to College Network Clearinghouse. Reeve represented COE on the Pathways to College Network Consortium that included the Daniels Fund, Knowledge Works, WICHE, SHEEO, ECS, Lumina Foundation and other organizations and foundations collaborating around pre-collegiate preparation for underserved students. She also participated on the Council for the Advancement of Standards in Higher Education Board of Directors and was on the subcommittee that wrote professional standards for TRIO and other educational opportunity programs in 1999.

Since 2005, she has directed the Academic Advancement Center, a TRIO Student Support Services program in CSU's Division of Student Affairs that facilitates student success through additional academic and other support to low-income, first-generation students and students with disabilities. She also teaches in the Student Affairs in Higher Education master’s program where she co-teaches a course on access and opportunity. 

Understanding the impact of educational policy and the need for national advocacy for low-income and first-generation students, Reeve served in various leadership roles in the TRIO state, regional and national professional associations, including three years as ASPIRE regional association president and as member and treasurer of the COE Board of Directors. She continues to work with TRIO colleagues to collaborate and increase partnerships around college access completion with the Colorado State Department of Higher Education and the Colorado Department of Education. At CSU, she served on various student retention-success and transition committees and most recently, was appointed as a senior teaching fellow with The Institute for Teaching and Learning.

Previous CSU recipients

Paul Thayer, associate vice president for Student Affairs and special advisor to the Provost for Student Success, received the award in 2009.