Today @ Colorado State has been replaced by SOURCE. This site exists as an archive of Today @ Colorado State stories between January 1, 2009 and September 8, 2014.

Awards / Honors

First annual Ram Scholar-Athlete Brunch honors 100

October 12, 2009

Colorado State is proud of its student-athletes, especially those who excel in the classroom. That's why the athletic department honored one-quarter of its nearly 400 student-athletes at the first annual Ram Scholar-Athlete Brunch on Sunday at the Lory Student Center's West Ballroom.

Student-athletes honored for academic success

Nigel Joseph, student-athlete; Wendy DeYoung, faculty member; and Leah Elmhauser, student-athlete

All told, 100 Rams who achieved at least a 3.0 grade-point average through the summer 2009 semester and have been on a CSU roster for at least one season, including walk-on athletes, were recognized.

Each of these student-athletes was encouraged to invite one faculty member of their choice as a guest.

Ram Scholar-Athlete briefcase

Those honored received a Ram Scholar-Athlete briefcase.

Speakers included:

  • Paul Kowalczyk, director of Athletics
  • Jack Graham, former football player and donor
  • Ryan Friese, member of the cross country and track teams

Senior Associate Athletic Director Gary Ozzello served as emcee.

The brunch will be an annual event during the fall.

Ram Scholar-Athletes

Jan Woods, a donor, with her student-athlete endowment recipient, Kendra Gerk

(* = MWC Scholar Athlete also)

Men’s Basketball

Jesse Carr*
Arin Dunne
Michael Lebsack

Women’s Basketball

Bonnie Barbee* 
Kim Mestdagh
Natalie Van den Adel
Chatilla Van Grinsven

Men’s Cross Country & Track/Field
Cross Country & Track

Colin Anderson*
Damon Austin
William Buchanan
Jeremy Freed
Ryan Friese* 
Jakob Keyser
Spenser Lynass
John O’Neill
Cameron Fullerton

Track only

Doug Deiker                 
Brian Fox
Ian Lettow
Joshua Murphy*
Travis Smith*
Tim Sterrenburg
Tyson Williams

Women’s Cross Country & Track/Field
Cross Country & Track

Michelle Dettman      
Kendra Gerk* 
Allison Gohl* 
Kristen Hemphill
Myla Kilchrist* 
Brittany Lee*
Samantha McMillan
Nicole Peters
Crystal Pitney
Ellen Rastall 
Laine Thomas
Margaret Wood

Track only

Paul Kowalczyk, athletic director, with Jack Graham, guest speaker, successful businessman, and former student-athlete

Megan Berg 
Ashley Dace*
Ashley Dixon 
Leah Elmhauser
Hilary Fraser* 
Emily Geubelle
Heather Hopkins
Elizabeth Johnson
Serena Johnson*
Tanesha Johnson
Kristen Kugler
Stacey Robben
Sonni Russell 
Jenna Sliwinski*
Sophia Wagner 


Scott Albritton  
Andrew Clements
Josh Gabler
Jacob Gdowski
Klay Kubiak 
Klint Kubiak 
Jarrad McKay
Eric Peitz 
Broderick Sargent
Marcus Shaw 
James Skelton
Ben Tedford 
Alex Williams

Women’s Golf

Sarah Anast
Brianna Espinoza 
Melissa Martin
Katelyn Negrilli


Chelsea Freiburg
Allison Majam* 
Ashley Munoz 
Lyssa Roberts*


Athletic Director Paul Kowalczyk congratulates a student-athlete.

Kim Freeman 
Breann Fuller*
Madeline Gamble
Danielle Gleason 
Kristen Gropp* 
Nora Kennedy* 
Samantha Klug 
Valerie Maldonado
Emily Molzahn 
Melissa Nolte
Michelle Price
Charlie Swearingen* 


Manar Al-Jazzaf*      
Victoria Arneson* 
Laura Neal
Kirsten Stople
Rui Xu


Katelin Batten 
Audrey Hemmings 
Emily Koenning 
Tessa Nelson
Megan Plourde
Evan Sanders 
Lisa Weintraub

Water Polo

Kate Armstrong
Kallie Berry 
Orsolya Nadasdy 
Aspen Rapp

Men's Golf 

Zahkai Brown 
Bryce Hanstad 
Kirby Pettitt