Today @ Colorado State has been replaced by SOURCE. This site exists as an archive of Today @ Colorado State stories between January 1, 2009 and September 8, 2014.


Spring commencement ceremonies May 14 and 15

May 11, 2010

Colorado State University will confer degrees on spring 2010 graduates at commencement ceremonies May 14 and 15.

2,643 undergraduates will receive degrees

College ceremonies and two ROTC commissionings will recognize 2,643 undergraduates, 132 professional veterinary medicine students and 802 graduate students, of which 55 are doctoral students. Forty-six students will graduate summa cum laude, 81 will graduate magna cum laude and 171 will graduate cum laude.

Commencement ceremonies, with the exception of the ROTC commissionings, will be webcast live at

Ceremony speakers

Among the commencement speakers:

  • Dr. Craig Webb, associate professor of Clinical Sciences at Colorado State University, will speak at the Professional Veterinary Medicine commencement ceremony at 8 a.m. May 14 at Moby Arena. He is a Diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine and is currently chief of the Small Animal Medicine Section at the Colorado State University Veterinary Teaching Hospital with a special interest in gastroenterology.
  • Maj. Gen. Steven R. Abt, deputy commanding general, will speak at the Army ROTC commissioning at 8:30 a.m. May 14 at the Lory Student Center Theatre. Abt serves as the senior reserve component representative at the U.S. Army Accessions Command Headquarters at Fort Monroe, Va. He is a 1973 Distinguished Military Graduate of the ROTC program at CSU where he earned a bachelor’s in Civil Engineering.
  • Kurt Barth and Robert Enzenroth, founders of Abound Solar, will speak at the College of Engineering commencement ceremony at 11:30 a.m. May 14 at Moby Arena. Barth is one of three founders of Abound Solar and is an inventor of Abound's patented, advanced manufacturing technology. He has 17 years in solar photovoltaics research and manufacturing process development and a publication record of more than 70 refereed papers and presentations focused on thin film PV.Robert Enzenroth has a bachelor’s in mechanical engineering from Colorado State University. For 14 years, Enzenroth was a research associate for the Materials Engineering Laboratory at CSU involved in research in high throughput manufacturing of thin film photovoltaics. Enzenroth was the lead engineering designer for Abound Solar's unique semiconductor deposition process. He is a co-inventor of Abound Solar's patented thin-film PV technology. Abound Solar, formerly AVA Solar, arose from research conducted at CSU from the early 1990s through 2007 by W.S. Sampath, Enzenroth and Barth, members of the Department of Mechanical Engineering.
  • Joseph B. Blake, chancellor of the Colorado State University System, will speak at the Graduate School and the College of Natural Sciences commencement ceremonies. The Graduate School commencement ceremony begins at 3 p.m. May 14 at Moby Arena. The College of Natural Sciences commencement ceremony begins at 8 a.m. May 15 at Moby Arena. Blake became chancellor of the Colorado State University System on July 1, 2009. As chancellor, he oversees a three-campus system comprised of CSU in Fort Collins, CSU-Pueblo and CSU Global. Blake also served on the Board of Governors of the Colorado State University System from 2005 to 2009. Throughout his far-reaching career, he has proven his passion for making communities stronger and enhancing the quality of life in Colorado. A top priority for Blake is to marshal the leadership in higher education and around the state to begin working toward a sustainable source of funding for public higher education.
  • Brian Butki, assistant professor in the Department of Health and Exercise Science, will speak at the College of Applied Human Sciences commencement ceremony at 7:30 p.m. May 14 at Moby Arena. Butki is the winner of the 2010 College of Applied Human Sciences Outstanding Teacher Award. The College of Applied Human Sciences has a tradition of inviting the Outstanding Teacher Award-winner to speak at graduation. Butki also received an Alumni Association Best Teacher Award for 2009. He has been a faculty member since 2004.
  • Robert Sturtevant, extension forestry specialist for the Department of Forest, Rangeland, and Watershed Stewardship at CSU, will speak at the Warner College of Natural Resources commencement ceremony at 9 a.m. May 15 at the Lory Student Center Main Ballroom. Sturtevant works with university students, natural resource managers, landowners and the general public in forestry education and information sharing. He has a split appointment between the Colorado State Forest Service and CSU Extension. Starting his career in 1977, Sturtevant was the CSFS crew leader for the Big Thompson flood recovery project. He was forester for the Colorado State Forest Service from 1985-1993, during which time he completed a one- year exchange with an Australian forester working for the Victorian Department of Conservation and Environment.
  • Robert R. Zimdahl, emeritus professor of weed science in CSU’s Department of Bioagricultural Sciences and Pest Management, will speak at the College of Agricultural Sciences commencement ceremony at noon May 15 at Moby Arena. Zimdahl began his career at CSU in 1968 as an assistant professor in the Department of Botany and Plant Pathology. During his tenure here, he traveled the world as visiting professor and scientist, Fulbright scholar, and expert adviser. Zimdahl's research was on the forefront of today's big issues such as world interdependence on population and food and the environmental fate of pesticides. He has won a number of awards and honors including the Charles N. Shepardson Meritorious Teaching Award, the Oliver P. Pennock Distinguished Service Award and the Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award from the Board of Governors of the Colorado State University System.
  • David Neenan, chairman and chief executive officer of The Neenan Company, will speak at the College of Business commencement ceremony at 3:30 p.m. May 15 at Moby Arena. Neenan is creator of the pioneering Archistruction process for planning, designing and managing building construction projects. He has combined leading-edge information processing and design methods with innovative "people" approaches to re-engineer how the construction process works from conception to completion. Neenan was a founder of Foothills National Bank of Colorado and former member of the Poudre R-1 School Board. He has been named Entrepreneur of the Year for Fort Collins, and along with his wife, Sharon, has been recognized for community service with the Hope Award.
  • CSU President Tony Frank will speak at the College of Liberal Arts commencement ceremony at 7:30 p.m. May 15 at Moby Arena. Frank became the 14th President of Colorado State University on June 24, 2009. He had served as interim president of CSU since November 2008 after having served the university for more than 16 years including four years as provost and senior vice president. Frank earned his bachelor's in biology from Wartburg College and his Doctor of Veterinary Medicine from the University of Illinois. He completed a Ph.D. and residencies in pathology and toxicology at Purdue University. He served on the faculty at Oregon State University before joining Colorado State in 1993, where he served as chairman of the Department of Pathology and associate dean for Research in the College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences.

The following is a list of CSU commencement ceremony starting times and locations for each ceremony.

Friday, May 14

Saturday, May 15

Contact: Jennifer Dimas
Phone: (970) 491-1543