Today @ Colorado State has been replaced by SOURCE. This site exists as an archive of Today @ Colorado State stories between January 1, 2009 and September 8, 2014.

Awards / Honors

Amy Prieto named 2011 ExxonMobil Fellow by American Chemical Society

March 24, 2011

Since 1979, only two CSU chemistry professors have received the ExxonMobil Fellow award. CSU is the only university in Colorado to ever receive the honor. Peter Dorhout, vice provost for Graduate Affairs and chemistry professor, received the award in 1996, and now Amy Prieto is the 2011 distinguished recipient.

Amy Prieto, chemistry professor and founder of Prieto BatteryPrieto, founder of one of the university’s most prominent startup companies, Prieto Battery, is the one scientist chosen this year out of a national field.

Award recognizes young scientist contributions

The Solid State Chemistry Faculty Fellowship recognizes a young scientist who has made substantial contributions to solid-state chemistry and has the potential to emerge as a leader in the field. The award is administered by the Division of Inorganic Chemistry of the American Chemical Society.

Prieto’s research focuses on developing methods for making nanoscale materials that have applications in solar cells, lithium-ion batteries and hydrogen storage.

Most recently, Prieto successfully turned a mineral compound into a material that can pass current through a nanoparticle network, an important discovery toward more efficient, inexpensive solar cell materials. Prieto discovered that dramatic reactions occur with copper selenide on the nanoscale. Reactions with air allow Prieto and her students to manipulate the properties of the device – such as a solar cell – containing copper selenide.

"Dr. Prieto is an entrepreneurial scientist whose innovative approach to developing new types of batteries through fundamental solid-state chemistry promises to revolutionize that industry,” said Ellen Fisher, chair of the Department of Chemistry. “She is a truly worthy recipient of the ExxonMobil Solid State Chemistry Faculty Fellowship."

Prieto Battery could revolutionize industry

Prieto joined Colorado State in 2005 as an assistant professor. She is part of the university’s Clean Energy Supercluster commercialization arm, Cenergy. In 2009, Prieto co-founded Cenergy’s first startup company, Prieto Battery, a company expected to produce batteries theoretically up to 1,000 times more powerful and 10 times longer lasting and cheaper than traditional batteries. The development of this technology could revolutionize the military, automobile and healthcare industries.

In its 2012 edition of top graduate schools released today, U.S News and World Report named the graduate program in the Department of Chemistry at Colorado State one of the top 50 programs in the country.

The ExxonMobil Solid State Chemistry Faculty Fellowship is sponsored by the ExxonMobil Foundation. Selection of the recipient is administered by the Solid State Subdivision of the ACS Division of Inorganic Chemistry. The award includes an unrestricted grant of $10,000 and will be presented at the National ACS meeting in the fall.

Contact: Emily Wilmsen
Phone: (970) 491-2336