Today @ Colorado State has been replaced by SOURCE. This site exists as an archive of Today @ Colorado State stories between January 1, 2009 and September 8, 2014.

Sports / Recreation

Five to be honored at Hall of Fame Banquet

October 21, 2009

The outstanding CSU Hall of Fame Class of 2009 is set to be inducted on Oct. 30. Fans and friends who'd like to attend the Hall of Fame Banquet must register online by 5 p.m. on Tuesday, Oct. 27.

Friday, Oct. 30, 5:30 p.m.
Hilton Fort Collins
425 W. Prospect

The outstanding CSU Hall of Fame Class of 2009, including Hall of Honor recipient Rich Bircumshaw, former QB Moses Moreno, former MBB star Pat Durham, swimmer Jeanette Marie (Beitz) Crawshaw and wrestler/football player Kevin Sheesley, is set to be inducted on Oct. 30 at the Hall of Fame Banquet.

How to register for the banquet

The deadline for reqistering for the banquet is Tuesday, Oct. 27 at 5 p.m. Fans and friends of CSU who want to attend the Hall of Fame Banquet may register through:


Tickets are $50 per person or $500 per table. The banquet will take place at the Hilton Fort Collins. Cocktails will begin at 5:30 p.m. and the program will begin an hour later. Business attire is required.


"Class acts"

Rich Bircumshaw (Hall of Honor Special Award) was a member of the Colorado State radio network since 1999, and had been the play-by-play voice of CSU football and men's basketball since 2002, until he passed away unexpectedly in April. 

Willing to serve CSU unselfishly as a public ambassador for the ideals of the athletic department on a daily basis, he volunteered as an emcee for dozens of CSU events each year.

And when he wasn't speaking to large audiences, he was having quality one-on-one conversations with people.


Jeanette Marie (Beitz) Crawshaw (swimming) was a freshman All-American at UCLA (relays) in 1988; All-American at Fort Collins High School in 1987; Frank Award (best female athlete at CSU) in 1991; NCAA Woman of the Year in 1991; All-American and academic All-American in 1991; All-conference in 1989, 1990 and 1991; and WAC champion in two events (one individual and one relay) in 1991.

She was also all-conference in four events (three individual and one relay) in 1991; HCAC champion in two events (relays) in 1990; HCAC champion in seven events (three individual and four relay) in 1989; and set the CSU record for most points in a season (325) in 1989.

She graduated in 1991 with a 3.5 GPA in accounting.


Pat Durham
(men's basketball) led CSU to the second round of the 1989 NCAA tournament; first-team all-conference in 1988 and 1989; set the following records while at CSU: career scoring, season scoring (1988), career rebounds, career field goals made and attempted and career free throws made and attempted; team was WAC champion in 1988-89; and WAC Player of the Year in 1989.

Durham also won the CSU Nye Award (best male athlete) in 1988; Team MVP in 1988 and 1989; member of 1988 NIT all-tournament team; and was selected in the second round of the NBA Draft by the Dallas Mavericks.

He played two seasons in the NBA, one with the Golden State Warriors and one with the Minnesota Timberwolves; and played professionally in Europe from 1996-2007.


Moses Moreno (football) played quarterback at CSU from 1993-97; is in the top five in school history for a number of single-season and career passing records, including passing touchdowns, total passing yards and total offense, and among the top 25 in the WAC in the same categories; in 1997, was named WAC Player of the Year, Holiday Bowl MVP and team MVP; has been inducted into the San Diego Hall of Champions; as a junior, received honorable mention all-conference; and as a senior, led the Rams to a Holiday Bowl victory over Missouri and was named first-team all-WAC.

Moreno ranked ninth nationally in passing efficiency in 1997; finished his career at CSU with a 22-8 record as a starter; was a seventh-round draft pick of the Chicago Bears in 1998; was a starter for both the Chicago Bears and the San Diego Chargers; was Nye Trophy (best male athlete) winner in 1998.


Kevin Sheesley
(wrestling, football) wrestled and played football at CSU from 1977-82; earned four letters in both wrestling and football; winningest wrestler in school history -- passing Rob Anderson's career victory total of 66 wins for first place - having compiled a 67-20 record, including going undefeated in junior and senior years.

Sheesley likely would have earned All-America honors as a senior had he not sustained an injury prior to nationals; was undefeated and ranked as high as second in the country prior to injury (just before the national tournament); three-time WAC champion in the 190-pound weight class; and finished third in the conference in '78. 

He was also two-time M.I.W.A. champion and two-time Western Regional champion; won the Nye Trophy (best male athlete); starting outside linebacker on football team in junior and senior year, finishing second on the team in tackles both seasons; voted honorable mention all-WAC by coaches following 1979 season; and was a member of the CSU all-century football team.

Contact: Zak Gilbert
Phone: (970) 491-5067