Today @ Colorado State has been replaced by SOURCE. This site exists as an archive of Today @ Colorado State stories between January 1, 2009 and September 8, 2014.

Working at CSU

Distinguished Administrative Professional Nomination - deadline extended

March 10, 2009

Deadline extended to Friday, March 13 

Distinguished Administrative Professional Award 2008-2009

You are invited to submit nominations for the Distinguished Administrative Professional Award to be presented at the University’s annual Celebrate Colorado State Luncheon on April 28, 2009.

Nominations must be received by 5 p.m., Friday, March 13, 2009, in electronic format, via e-mail to:

Patsy Harlan

Subject: Chair of the Administrative Professional Council Awards Committee

This annual award recognizes administrative professionals with continuing meritorious and outstanding achievement in the areas of outreach, teaching, administration, and/or research at CSU.

A maximum of four award recipients will be selected, and each will receive a commemorative plaque and an award of $1,000. Nominators should keep in mind that, while they know their nominee and their nominee’s work, individuals evaluating the nominations might not; please adequately describe how the nominee’s performance fits the selection criteria.

If you have nominated an Administrative Professional who in the past was not selected for the Award, you are encouraged to re-nominate that individual. A past recipient of a Distinguished Administrative Professional Award is not eligible to receive a second award within five years.

Using the following suggested selection criteria, the award will be based on demonstrated outstanding achievement within the individual’s responsibilities to the University, Community, and/or State of Colorado. The nomination should address at least one (1) and no more than three (3) of these criteria to be considered for the award. All criteria are given equal weight.

Selection Criteria:
1. Uses innovative techniques and/or technology in daily work activities or is responsible for cost saving innovations and efficiency of operational policies and procedures.

2. Provides team leadership and/or a mentoring capability to fellow workers.

3. Has a proven record of contribution to the community and/or state and/or is recognized by peers and supervisor(s) for university-wide contributions.

4. Has demonstrated successful proposal writing skills in attracting program funds to the University.

5. Has developed and implemented innovative instructional or training curriculum.

6. Is involved in “cutting edge work” that is reflected in publications, reports, and deliverables.

7. Has consistently demonstrated superior efficiency and productivity in daily work activities.

8. Provides superior service to students that enhance their overall university experience.

Nominations must be received by 5 p.m., Friday, March 6, 2009 in electronic format, via e-mail to:

Patsy Harlan

Subject: Chair of the Administrative Professional Council Awards Committee

Instructions, forms and sample nominations are available for download at the AP Council website at:

or call Patsy Harlan at 491-5258.

Questions regarding the preparation of the nomination package can be directed to Melissa Hein at (970) 491-6098 or e-mail or Kathy Frasier at (970) 491- 3864 or e-mail

Contact: Melissa Hein
Phone: (970) 491-6098