Today @ Colorado State has been replaced by SOURCE. This site exists as an archive of Today @ Colorado State stories between January 1, 2009 and September 8, 2014.

Awards / Honors

Celebrate Colorado State! awards announced

April 27, 2010

Each year, we celebrate the teaching, research, and service achievements of Colorado State University students, alumni and friends, academic faculty, administrative professionals, and classified staff. The top awards for 2009-2010 were announced at the Celebrate Colorado State! Awards reception on April 27.

Full news releases regarding the awards are available on

Erica SuchmanUniversity Distinguished Teaching Scholar

Erica Suchman
Associate Professor in Microbiology

The title of University Distinguished Teaching Scholar (UDTS) is conferred upon the most outstanding faculty members of Colorado State University for the duration of their association with the institution. Only 12 persons may hold the title at any one time, exclusive of any retired faculty members holding the title of Distinguished Teaching Scholar Emeritus.

Ellen FisherScholarship Impact Award

Ellen Fisher
Professor and Chair of the Department of Chemistry

The University's highest award for accomplishment in research, this award recognizes faculty whose scholarship has had a major impact nationally and/or internationally.

APW BohmBoard of Governors Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award

A.P.W. Bohm
Professor in Computer Science

Recognizes one faculty member from each of the two institutions in the Colorado State University System for excellence in undergraduate teaching; awarded by the Board of Governors.

Kevin Crooks and Sammy ZahranMonfort Professors

Kevin Crooks
Associate Professor of Fish, Wildlife and Conservation Biology

Sammy Zahran
Assistant Professor of Sociology

Established by the Monfort Family Foundation, this program enables Colorado State to recruit and retain top-quality faculty. These competitively-selected, two-year appointments recognize and provide support for innovative teaching and research activities.

Advisor Gratitude Award

Recognizes faculty or staff member(s) serving as the primary advisor to a student organization registered with the Student Organizations office; nominated by a student or a student group.

Pamela Coke, English
Whitney Cranshaw, Bioagricultural Sciences & Pest Management

Joan Gaynor Kuder Scholarship

The Joan Gaynor Kuder Scholarship is the only scholarship at Colorado State University specifically for employees. This prestigious scholarship is awarded to nine- and twelve-month full-time employees who have made sustained progress toward their degree and exhibit the passion and commitment to life-long learning that Joan Gaynor Kuder shared in her 17-year association with Colorado State.

Clark Erwin-Billones, Office of Greek Life; Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Resource Center
Ron Hicks, Conflict Resolution & Student Services

Janet and Allan Eddy Family Scholarship

The Janet and Allan Eddy Scholarship was established to annually provide a $1,000 scholarship to eligible Colorado State University employees who have made sustained progress toward attaining an undergraduate degree from Colorado State University.

Shirley Liu, Environmental & Radiological Health Sciences

Martin Luther King, Jr., Scholarship Award

Awarded to a graduate student for outstanding achievement in academics and service to and advancement of diversity.

David Young, '84, '10, Ethnic Studies

Office of International Programs Distinguished Service Award

Recognizes faculty or staff who have made a significant impact campus-wide on internationalization efforts of Colorado State University.

Betty Shoemaker, Fort Collins International Center
Tom Siller, College of Engineering
Evan Vlachos, Civil and Environmental Engineering

Margaret B. Hazaleus Award

The Hazaleus awards were started in 1997 to honor individuals for long-term efforts to enhance the opportunities for women on campus.

Clark Erwin-Billones, Office of Greek Life; Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Resource Center
Mary B. Ontiveros, '73, '79, Office of Enrollment and Access
Cindy Griffin, Communication Studies

Multi-Ethnic Distinguished Service Award

Honors individuals who have made outstanding contributions to their professions and the multi-ethnic community; presented by the Multi-Ethnic Faculty and Staff Caucus.

Eulanda Sanders, '90, '94, Design and Merchandising
Marilyn Thayer, '98, College of Applied Human Sciences

Outstanding Achievement Award

Recognizes meritorious and outstanding achievement in job skills and/or service to the University by state classified personnel; awarded by the Classified Personnel Council.

Barbara Ball, Occupational Therapy
James Cizek, Academic Computing & Networking Services
Don Dick, Chemistry
James Shorkey, Facilities Management
Nancy Weiss, Animal Sciences

Distinguished Administrative Professional Award

Presented to administrative professional staff for continuing meritorious and outstanding achievement in the areas of outreach, teaching, administration, and/or research; awarded by the Administrative Professional Council.

Thomas Dieringer, CSU Health Network
William W. Doe, '92, Warner College of Natural Resources
Gretchen Gerding, College of Applied Human Sciences
Bob Sturtevant, '75, '80, Forest, Rangeland, & Watershed Stewardship

Oliver P. Pennock Distinguished Service Award

Recognizes meritorious and outstanding achievement over a five-year period by full-time members of the academic faculty; established as a tribute to Professor Pennock, who served as a distinguished professor of Civil Engineering in the 1920s.

V. Chandrasekar, '83, '87, Electrical & Computer Engineering
Edward L. DeLosh, Psychology
Robert Gotshall, Health & Exercise Science
Paul Laybourn, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology

 Jack E. Cermak Outstanding Advisor Award

Endowed in 1984 to honor excellence in academic advising, including recognition by students and peers as an outstanding advisor; capacity to offer career as well as academic advising; interpersonal communication skills that lead to beneficial advising relationships; and contributions to the improvement of advising services and/or the appreciation of academic advising throughout the campus.

Ernest Chavez, Psychology
Roze Hentschell, English
Haley Richards, '05, Center for Advising & Student Achievement
Aaron Sholders, '03, '06, Biochemistry

Exceptional Achievement in Service-Learning Student Award

Recognizes a student or a student group for remarkable contributions in service-learning courses and/or community-based research; awarded by the Service Integration Project.

Sarah Stephens, '10, Art History & Pottery

Exceptional Achievement in Service-Learning Community Partner Award

Presented to an outstanding Colorado State University community partner for their notable contributions to and participation in service-learning courses, initiatives or community-based research.

Laurie Klith, Center for Family Outreach

Instructional Innovation in Service-Learning Award

Honors a Colorado State University faculty member who demonstrates an innovative contribution to service-learning curriculum development and/or community outreach.

Leslie Cunningham-Sabo, Food Science & Human Nutrition

Provost's N. Preston Davis Award for Instructional Innovation

Presented to an individual from among University faculty in recognition of the use of technology to further or significantly encourage instructional innovation; in recognition of more than four decades of service by N. Preston Davis.

Tom Johnson, Environmental & Radiological Health Sciences

Contact: Jimmy Conway
Phone: (970) 491-082