Today @ Colorado State has been replaced by SOURCE. This site exists as an archive of Today @ Colorado State stories between January 1, 2009 and September 8, 2014.

Awards / Honors

Emeritus mechanical engineering professor honored by University Libraries

April 30, 2010

Emeritus Mechanical Engineering Professor Byron Winn was honored for his contributions to the University Libraries and University Archives at a reception at Morgan Library on April 21.

Solar Village documents and photos preserved

Known for his leadership in solar energy research and development, Winn was recognized by colleagues including Mechanical Engineering Department head Allan Kirkpatrick, colleague Professor Paul Wilbur, and Associate Dean of Engineering Wade Troxell, and University Libraries interim Dean Patrick Burns.

Winn’s contributions, including Solar Village research papers, photographs, and drawings, document his extensive and notable career in solar and other alternative energies.

“Dr. Winn was principally responsible for building a world-class solar and alternative energy program at CSU in the 70s,” said University Libraries interim Dean Patrick Burns. “We are delighted to accept his world class materials in these areas for the sake of posterity and society.”

Gratitude for donations to University Archives

“I know through looking at Dr. Winn’s book on the history of the Mechanical Engineering Department that, he has both a brilliant engineer’s mind and the heart of a historian. So I know that he will understand my expression of gratitude for his donations to University Archives which will help us document and preserve this important part of Colorado State University’s institutional memory,” said Janet Bishop, coordinator of University Archives and Special Collections.

Alumnus Susan Hock, B.S. 1978, Engineering Science, remembers Professor Winn “…because he challenged and inspired me to be the very best I could. He has remained an important influence in my life."

About Byron Winn

Focusing much of his career on energy research, Winn co-established Colorado State's passive solar test facility at the Solar Energy Applications Laboratory. He is also the founder of the Manufacturing Excellence Center, the Energy Analysis and Diagnostic Center, the Waste Minimization Assessment Center and the Industrial Assessment Center at Colorado State.

Winn has performed research and published articles in the areas of solar energy, energy conservation and manufacturing, as well as optimal control, systems analysis, orbital mechanics, satellite geodesy, remote sensing, and hydrology and water resource systems.

During his career at Colorado State, Winn served as professor and department head of mechanical engineering for 13 years and as associate dean for research and graduate studies for the College of Engineering for two years.

Actively involved in energy research since 1973, Winn served on the boards of directors of the American Solar Energy Society, the International Solar Energy Society, the Colorado Renewable Energy Society and the Solar Rating and Certification Corporation. He additionally served as General Chairman of the annual meeting of the American Section of the International Solar Energy Society and the Biennial Congress of the International Solar Energy Society.

Winn was president and co-founder of the Solar Environmental Engineering Company and has served on the boards of directors of several other energy-related companies. He continues to serve as a consultant to many private and government organizations and has provided expertise to Public Service Company of Colorado, the U.S. Department of Commerce, the Nebraska Energy Office, the Solar Energy Research Institute, the University of Mosul in Iraq, the National Research Council, the U.S. Department of Energy, Los Alamos National Laboratory, the National Bureau of Standards and several others.

Among his many accolades and professional honors, Winn is a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers and has served as a technical editor of the ASME Journal of Solar Energy Engineering. He also served as a technical editor of the Passive Solar Journal and Advances in Solar Energy. He has served on the National Education Committee and as chairman of the Rocky Mountain section of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics.

Winn received his doctorate in Aeronautical and Astronautical Sciences from Stanford University in 1967, his master's degree in Aeronautical and Astronautical Engineering from Stanford in 1960 and his bachelor's in Aeronautical Engineering from the University of Illinois in 1958.

The Abbot Award is named in honor of Charles Greeley Abbot who was a prominent researcher in solar energy. During his lifetime of 101 years, Abbot developed a number of instruments for measuring insulation, determined the solar constant with great accuracy, and contributed greatly to the understanding of the solar resource on earth. He was for many years the secretary (i.e. director) of the Smithsonian Institute.

Contact: Jane Barber
Phone: (970) 491-5712